San Francisco de Asís

On October 7th, I visited the Episcopal Church called La Sagrada Familia to worship with the parish, where the community and Rev. Alirio welcomed a group of Pelican missionaries (Padre Alirio has had a long relationship with Pelican Missionaries, hosting groups for years). Before meeting this group of “Pelicans” I knew nothing about Praying Pelican Missionaries (PPM) – click on the link to learn more! Bringing together people of Christian faith from all denominations, PPM invites people of all ages to join ministries around the world designed around these efforts: Genuine Partnerships, Long-Term Relationships, and Sustainable Ministry. As a YASC missionary in the Diocese of Puerto Rico, I also use these three “pillars” to help guide my ministries. I am happy I got the chance to learn more about PPM and the incredible people who make these trips and relationship happen!

The group of “Pelican” missionaries from Maryland and Colorado, Padre Alirio of La Sagrada Familia, and me (Lydia Pendleton) off to the far right.


Me (Lydia Pendleton) – An amazing day spent talking, praying, and painting the parish hall with “Pelican” missionaries and Padre Alirio.
Some of the smiling “Pelican” faces that brought great joy to my week!
These two “Pelicans” (L to R – Charity and Dan) spent the entire day painting non-stop with big smiles on their faces, eager to finish the project. Padre Alirio and I had a great time learning more about each person in the group – what brought them to Puerto Rico, how they see and respond to God, what their homes and families are like, etc.
Our visit to one of the Nursing Homes in the area – a moving experience to simply “be” with them, sharing stories, and praying.
Rev. Alirio blessing a 15 day old baby girl when we visited a home for women called “Hogar Crea de Mujeres”.
Rev. Alirio preaching at la Iglesia de la Sagrada Familia, welcoming the group of “Pelican” missionaries.

It was a true pleasure to meet this group of missionaries (from Colorado and Maryland), to help interpret during the service, to accompany them later on as the group ventured out into the neighborhood for various pastoral visits, and later on to spend the day with them painting the parish hall. I feel blessed to have had the opportunity to tag along and help translate during the pastoral visits – ready for anything and with no plan, we allowed God to lead us to each place. It was truly a moving experience. We walked to a beautiful community for women called “Hogar Crea de Mujeres”, a nursing home, and two houses where together we prayed for those we met; for those sick or in pain, for those mourning, for those in need of a helping hand, and together we gave thanks for the gift of new life, for friends, family, peace, hope, and community. We gave thanks for new friendships we made on this day, for love, peace, and for our hope and faith that brings us closer together. It was a true blessing to spend the day with this group, to share the experience of “being”, praying, and worshiping with others, and to listen to their beautiful music!

Error
This video doesn’t exist


I was moved to tears when a kind women in the nursing home repeated how grateful she was for our presence with tears in her eyes – she thanked us for bringing joy into her day, week, and months, with our youthful spirit, music and prayers… But the words that moved me the most: she thanked us for reminding her that she has not been forgotten. That is what we are all called to do: to bring each other joy, peace, and hope; to brighten the lives of others; to LOVE one another! That is what the Jesus Movement is about! LOVE! Let’s make sure that no one ever feels forgotten!

I was reminded this past week of one of my favorite prayers – the Peace Prayer of St. Francis (we celebrate his feast day on Oct. 4th by honoring his love of nature and animals and his dedication to a life of prayer with the blessing of the animals). In a world where we often feel overwhelmed by darkness and sadness, this group of missionaries, the people I met on our pastoral visits that welcomed our presence and prayers, and St. Francis remind me to live by this prayer and these words through actions:

Lord, make me an instrument of your peace:
where there is hatred, let me sow love;
where there is injury, pardon;
where there is doubt, faith;
where there is despair, hope;
where there is darkness, light;
where there is sadness, joy.

O divine Master, grant that I may not so much seek
to be consoled as to console,
to be understood as to understand,
to be loved as to love.
For it is in giving that we receive,
it is in pardoning that we are pardoned,
and it is in dying that we are born to eternal life.
Amen.


Before parting ways, the “Pelicans” asked if they could pray for me as I continue to serve as a missionary in Puerto Rico for another 11 months. As we stood in a circle holding hands, we prayed. Overwhelmed by their spirits, prayers, and loving words, I was moved to tears (“The gift of Tears” – This occurs when you become overwhelmed by the presence of God and tears spontaneously flow as a result of your personal experience of God. In such an instance, you are moved beyond your natural emotional state, having no control over the outpouring of tears. This may occur due to an experience of God’s all- consuming love as you come to feel it on a personal level).

On a day when I was feeling down, uncertain, and in need of guidance, this group reminded me of why I am here just when I needed it the most. The timing of their presence in my service journey couldn’t have been better… funny how God sends you angels when you need them without even realizing you ever did. It was an incredible week and it was truly a pleasure to spend time getting to know this great group of beautiful people! They will always be in my prayers and in my heart!

It is hard to believe I arrived in Puerto Rico a little over one month ago! Though there have been ups and downs, I know I am exactly where I am supposed to be. I feel blessed to be here to help the Episcopal Diocese of Puerto Rico in any way I can and I have faith in God’s plan – ready to go wherever He leads me. Thank you for everyone’s support, love, and prayers! I wouldn’t be able to do this without you!

Thank you for reading! If you would like to contribute a donation to my year as a YASCer in the Episcopal Diocese of Puerto Rico, click here. I have raised approximately $5,000 – still working on reaching my goal of $10,000.

1 thought on “San Francisco de Asís

  1. Hi Lydia, I love your explanation of “gift of tears”. Now I know why this happens to me.

    Godspeed Peter

    On Tue, Oct 16, 2018, 12:13 AM Send Me Into The World in Peace wrote:

    > Lydia Pendleton posted: “On October 7th, I visited the Episcopal Church > called La Sagrada Familia to worship with the parish, where the community > and Rev. Alirio welcomed a group of Pelican missionaries (Padre Alirio has > had a long relationship with Pelican Missionaries, hosting ” >

    Like

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close